A Path to Raw and Juicing-my journey through day 11

25 Apr

Back in March of 2013, a Facebook friend, Catherine, (who isn’t someone I’ve had the opportunity to actually hang out with in real life…yet;) posted that she was planning on doing www.youngandraw.com ‘s 30day smoothie challenge (www.facebook.com/groups/30daygreensmoothiechallenge/ ) and asked who wanted to join her? I thought, why not? The goal is just to add one green smoothie to your diet a day without necessarily taking anything away. After 30 days, I enjoyed the smoothies so much, I kept on doing them. Right before I went out of town for a friend’s wedding in HI, I saw some info on a 21 day raw reset cleanse (also by young and raw) and then didn’t think much more about it.

While in Hawaii I reconnected with my friend Tisha who I had not seen in 5 years. She was the women’s pastor at the church I became a believer at in 2003. (quick background-I lived in HI for 7 years & moved away in 2008). While I was at her house, her friend Keiger stopped by (turns out I knew him when I lived in HI-he’s now a pastor in Honolulu) who was so excited to talk about his new plant based diet. I was asking for healing from my type 2 diabetes that I have been dealing with for 13+ years. I had recently had to up my insulin and I was just so frustrated. I had been prayed for on that subject in the past but since He had not answered yet, I just knew I needed to ask for more prayer. When we were done praying, the 21 Day Raw Reset Cleanse was stuck in my head like a broken record. I really felt like G-d was leading me straight to the cleanse to receive healing.

In addition to my diabetes, I had another health issue I asked for healing from. In February of 2012 when my dad went into the hospital, I developed a staph infection. I didn’t know that’s what it was at the time as I figured the blemishes developing under my arms were from stress…I got it diagnosed and cultured in September of 2012, took antibiotics (which I hate because of all the side effects) and it went away. Then in December of 2012, it came back…I went on a different antibiotic plus an additional antibiotic cream and it went away, we hoped for good….but then in March of 2013 it returned…It took a month to get a Dr. appointment (this is one of the challenges with military medical care) and it was cultured last week…I’m waiting for the results…However since the antibiotics didn’t work to eradicate the infection the first 2 times, I really would like a different solution…Isn’t the definition of insanity doing the same thing over again but expecting a different result? I have tried a couple of different natural solutions but so far nothing has kicked it.

April 1st 2013 I started the 21 Day Raw Reset Cleanse. I had been eating according to a mostly paleo lifestyle for the last nearly 2 years (no processed sugar, grains or legumes with animal products being wild, grass fed or pasture raised) so I have been big on meat and poultry as my main protein sources. I wasn’t sure how I would do on this but it went better than I expected. My diet consisted of freshly made juices, smoothies, salads with homemade dressings & raw meals that tasted better then I expected. I immediately had to start lowering my insulin and by the middle of the second week was on less then half of the dose I was when I started the cleanse. (I have been on 2 different types of insulin, taking one in the morning and at night before bed [Lantis] and the other before meals (Novolog)-about 225 units per day between the 2 of them).

Many people in the Facebook support group for the cleanse reported feeling fabulous after just a couple of days….I did not…I was detoxing heavily and did not start to really feel better until week 3.

The 3rd week of the cleanse was a juice fast. A few days into it, I thought I would like to do a 30 day juice fast. I really want to see my body healed and I figured if I give it a break from concentrating on digesting food, it can spend that energy on healing. I decided to go off my meds entirely during the juice fast…this turned out to be a pretty lousy idea. I gave my body 10 days to regulate and by day 10 of the juice fast I was having pretty high sugars so I’m back on insulin. I had blood work done on day 19 of the cleanse (day 5 of the juice fast portion) and will have it done again in a few weeks. My doctor wasn’t thrilled with my trying no insulin but I assured her that if my sugars did not regulate that I would go back on and I kept my word.

The Facebook support groups are so super helpful with this journey. The day after I mentioned to my husband that I was considering a 30 day juice fast, a woman named Julie who is in Canada posted in the 21 day raw reset that she was on day fifty-something of her 60 day juice fast. http://juliesjuicingjourney.wordpress.com/ I thought wow…maybe I can do that! But I will see how I feel after 30 days. Today is day 11. As a diabetic, I am aware that some things that work wonderfully for other people don’t always have the same positive effect on me. However, when I completed the 21 day raw reset, I was down 14 pounds and was successfully able to reduce my insulin by more then half. I’m pretty pleased with those results and excited to see what is down the road on my juicing journey!

9 Responses to “A Path to Raw and Juicing-my journey through day 11”

  1. Ailsa April 25, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    I’m so proud of you Troye and wish you the very best in health AND life 🙂

    • troyesthoughts April 25, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

      Thanks Alisa! I am so ready for healing and will take all the prayer my friends are willing to give along the way!

  2. Tiffany April 26, 2013 at 9:35 am #

    Inspiring girl, I love your spirit and motivation.

  3. Kerry April 26, 2013 at 10:41 am #

    Thanks for sharing Troye. I have a juicer, but I’ve never been able to do a fast. Did you get crabby? How did you deal with it?

    • troyesthoughts April 27, 2013 at 12:09 am #

      Kerry-the 21 day raw reset had me eating raw foods for 2 weeks to prepare me for juicing…I was definitely detoxing and my energy levels & emotions seemed like I was on a bit of a roller coaster…day one of juicing was a bit tough but it’s so worth it. I did take naps and laundry piled up a bit but I’m all caught up now;) Many people try a 3 to 5 day juice fast…I would recommend starting it on a day that you don’t have a lot on your plate.

  4. jessica April 27, 2013 at 2:11 am #

    Your motivating me to drink more juice:)

    • troyesthoughts April 27, 2013 at 9:27 am #

      Umm…I need to see u to give u back your juicer 😉

  5. juicing cleanse July 23, 2014 at 6:59 am #

    Centrifugal juicers are speedy, often cost less, and lose
    a lot of important nutrients. If you want to start on a
    healthy and detoxifying diet start juicing.
    Okra iis hibh iin calcium and has 20% sodium content.

Leave a Reply

