Day 24

9 May

At the end of day 24 and enjoying some herbal tea. I had company over tonight & cooked what looked and smelled like a delicious dinner…Thai green curry & coconut milk chicken with green beans over quinoa. But I had juice…didn’t even taste it…although part of me wanted to. It’s strange to not be able to eat what I’m cooking…I am suddenly aware of all of the times I mindlessly tasted things as I prepared them. It’s very strange to NOT do that!

Today I’ve been on a strawberry kick (they’re in season now in NC) and I had a mojito juice with strawberries…I think I hijacked a recipe and then modified it to make it more diabetic friendly.
4 cucumbers
2 romaine hearts
2 limes (with peel)
A handful of mint
A bunch of strawberries (greens removed)

20130509-004630.jpg
It is delicious! I feel like I was getting a bit bored with my regular green juices so although today’s juices were green, they were different for sure.

My second juice is called Easy Starter and my version is pictured below…this contrasted my tart mojito juice and even my guest Jamie tried it and liked it:) the recipe calls for spinach and since I didn’t have any, I just used a romaine heart.

20130509-005421.jpg

I got to go to the Fayetteville Farmers Market today and bought 2 cooler bags full of produce for under $20! Bunches of local (not sprayed) kale for $1 each…I pay $3 a bunch for organic at whole foods! Radishes, spinach, broccoli, sweet onions, sweet potatoes & beets that look amazing for a for a fraction of what I have been spending. So glad the Farmers Market has opened back up!

Something else pretty cool happened. I tried on 2 pair of shorts that were too tight for me to wear last summer…and they fit! Things like that really encourage me to keep going. Well, I must be off to bed…I have plans to go strawberry picking tomorrow πŸ™‚ I see more strawberries in my juices in the near future πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Day 24”

  1. Alisa May 9, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    you had me at mojito!!!!! πŸ™‚ LOL! I’m making this juice for sure! Good job Troye!

Leave a Reply

