Day 25 & 26

11 May

Day 25 had me in the strawberry fields! I absolutely LOVE strawberry picking! My friend Jamie came to hang out we had a blast. We are pictured below with the spoils of our adventure

20130511-002618.jpg

It kind of stinks to go strawberry picking and not be able to eat them in the picking process…or in the washing and preparing to freeze process…but I will say that I am enjoying getting to have them in the juicing process:). Today I made a juice similar to the Easy Starter I made 2 days ago but I’m out of oranges so I just left them out. It was still quite tastey…and very green!

20130511-003433.jpg

Last night I was hanging out at home wearing shorts I was unable to wear last summer…I love that:) I was wearing them while I prepared my strawberries to be frozen. I let them soak in the sink half filled with water, some apple cider vinegar & a couple of tablespoons of baking soda (thank you Casey for the recommendation) I then removed the greens (with a lovely pampered chef tool) and put them on a single layer in a Pyrex and put it in the freezer (you could use a metal cookie sheet but mine are all stoneware) and then this morning I put them in a ziplock. Hubby is not complaining about freshly picked and frozen strawberries in his smoothies 🙂 However, it looks like I will have to go strawberry picking again soon because I apparently only left enough unfrozen for 2 juices. I’m on a serious strawberry kick…and it seems as long as I juice them with some greens, I’m good. No blood sugar issues:). Plus they are packed with vitamin C & I read that we can better absorb vitamin C when we have it with iron….thank you Kale:)

I had to make tomorrow’s juices tonight and I used the rest of my strawberries in a new recipe; Magenta Explosion I love the name! I’m out of cucumbers so I used kale & romaine instead. I tried a couple of sips & It tasted delish!

I’m still praying that this stupid staph infection goes away for good. I just ordered an essential oil called Shield that I am hoping will help…the product description is interesting. It should be here next week. My condition is improving but it’s not going away…oh and then I had an allergic reaction to the tape of a band aid…yay…can’t wait till this is gone. But while talking to my wonderful Mother in law today, she made an excellent point; “If juicing can help cure cancer, I’m sure it can help cure your staph infection”. I appreciate her wisdom and encouragement.

Must get to bed…tomorrow is synagogue and I’m teaching the 3-5 year olds…and then I get to hit Trader Joes and Whole Foods…only I won’t need as much stuff because I got some great produce from my local farmers market this week:)

Leave a Reply

