Day 27-a new decision

12 May

I love when I go shopping and either someone looks in my basket or the cashier makes a remark about how healthy everything in my basket is. It kind of gives me a boost:) Plus the cashier at Trader Joes gave me an idea for a new juice recipe-watermelon, cucumber & mint. I’m gonna have to try it.

Another interesting thing that seems to be happening more and more is that I end up in really interesting conversations while in the grocery store. Today at Trader Joes I had a wonderful conversation with a lady who is considering changing her diet to a raw diet to address some health concerns. She has been watching different YouTube videos on the subject and collecting recipes but doesn’t feel like she really knows where to start. I gave her the info for young and raw‘s website and told her about the 21 day raw reset cleanse It’s a great place to start for people (like myself) who need structure and support to make such a big change.

Then at Whole Foods I met a really neat woman named Jenny who was standing behind a table of beautiful looking raw treats! she had samples of Kale chips and raw dehydrator crackers & chips from a company called Brads Raw Foods . I was sooo sad that i couldn’t try them:( Jenny has been a Vegan for several years. We had an awesome conversation but since she was working it got cut short. She was also very encouraging about my juice fast.

Speaking of my juice fast, I have officially decided to go for 60 days! I feel like 60 days will really give my body an opportunity to heal in a way it couldn’t otherwise. Then when I transition back to food it will be a high percentage of raw, plant based foods…I’m going to wait a while before reintroducing animal products…I think….I REALLY MISS EGGS! (Rant over…for now)

In the meantime, here is another interesting juice I tried recently-Grapefruit Watermelon Detox Juice

20130512-001853.jpg It tasted mostly like grapefruit juice…it was an interesting change from my typical green juices. Today’s juice included Joe’s Mean Green

5 Responses to “Day 27-a new decision”

  1. Linda May 12, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    Love you and am so proud of how hard you’re working! How much weight have you lost now?

    Love,

    Linda

    • troyesthoughts May 12, 2013 at 10:54 am #

      Weighed myself this morning-24lbs since April 1st!

      • MY JUICY LIFE May 12, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

        I drink pureed watermelon with a little mint all of the time in the summer. So delicious and good for you!

      • Linda May 14, 2013 at 12:49 am #

        So proud of you! Not just weight loss but being so brave to completely change how and what you’re eating. I’m wondering when you’re off the fast if you’ll tolerate meat. Are you doing this to also change to vegan?

        Love you!

        Linda

      • troyesthoughts May 14, 2013 at 12:54 am #

        Awwww-thank u! Luv u 2! I don’t expect to be reintroducing animal products (although I do really miss them….especially eggs) for a while…I’m clear in order for my body to really heal, I need to stay away for a while so I will be doing Vegan, mostly raw when I reintroduce food.

Leave a Reply

