Day 30….my now half way mark

15 May

Ok so it’s after midnight…so technically it’s day 31 but I haven’t gone to bed yet so as far as I’m concerned, it’s still day 30.

Today (May 14th) would have been my dad’s 77th birthday. He passed away last year a month before his 76th birthday. Normally, this would have been an excuse to engage in all of the comfort eating I pleased…but since I’m on a juice fast, I stuck to it…which is exactly what he would have wanted me to do…he gladly would have eaten my portion of chocolate cake had he been here. I miss him terribly and I know he would have been supportive and proud of me for getting this far.

At day 30 of juice fasting and since my journey started April 1st with raw eating to prepare for this juice fast, I have lost 25lbs. I lost 6lbs in the 2 weeks prior to starting my juice fast (which is included in the total) I realize others have lost more at this point in their journey but this is where I am at. My jeans are starting to look a bit ridiculous on me-a good feeling:)

So instead of emotional eating, I went shopping…responsibly;) I have really wanted to have a garden but my thumbs have been notoriously NOT green…plus I have dogs who dig things up in my yard….so a garden bed is out…I stopped by my local nursery anyway. After talking to the kind woman who works there, I came to understand that I can grow some veggies in pots…so I bought a cucumber plant, a yellow bell pepper plant & a tomato plant….I also got a great deal on basil & parsley. Even though I haven’t had a garden, I’ve had a compost pile going in the back yard for almost 2 years…and since juicing, my compost pile has certainly been growing quickly. So I now have som plants that will grow veggies I can juice on my back deck (that I can feed with my composted juice pulp). Hopefully I can keep these alive!

Throughout my day I sipped on a beautiful juice called BBQ Blow Out Juice It’s made with red cabbage…have you ever juiced red cabbage? It makes a beautiful electric purple colored juice…my pictures don’t do it justice:

20130515-003345.jpg

20130515-003450.jpg

I realized I did not take a picture of the final juice but it had beets so you can picture the beautiful color:) I also used my new ecojarz lid & straw. I was doing a bunch if running around and those came in super handy! Today’s green juice was brought to you by the poblano pepper in the Mexican Style Jugo juice

I must get to bed…tomorrow is my local farmers market!

4 Responses to “Day 30….my now half way mark”

  1. Kim Porter May 15, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    I am NEVER a commenter, but I just HAD to speak up here! Thank you for your blog. I am a pre-diabetic who had REALLY bad gestational diabetes, so know how important this all is. I have been juicing for a while, and am trying to monitor my blood sugar fanatically. I am too scared to go on an all juice fast, b/c I’m afraid my sugar will get too high, or, if not, I’ll get the hypoglycemic crash. I love that you are a REAL person, going on a real journey. Please know, you have a reader going along the journey with you. 😉

    • troyesthoughts May 15, 2013 at 1:16 am #

      Kim-thank you so much for your comment and encouragement! I recently read a statistic that talked about women with gestational diabetes often develop diabetes within 6-9 years after giving birth and their children are at higher risk for diabetes. My mom and I fit that statistic…she passed away from diabetes-related complications when I was 9…so I encourage you to do whatever you need to do to eliminate diabetes from your health! I didn’t think juicing would be my answer but so far so far it is working better then anything else I have done. I will say I am using way more veggies then fruits and I completely avoid mango, pineapple & grapes as those fruits tend to cause my sugar to spike….I did do pineapple in a juice one day and it was disastrous for my blood sugar. I wish you the best on your journey and hope to hear more from you 🙂

  2. Erin W. May 15, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Happy Birthday (one day late) to your dad! He would have been very proud of you. So sorry he is not here with you now but one day…
    Your blog fasinates me so much. I love the idea of all fresh all the time. Have you noticed changes in energy during the day or do you sleep really well at night? I have a bazillion questions but I will just keep following you in your journey and see through your experience.
    We are starting a garden too. My thumb is sometimes green and other times not so much. So we’ll see what produce we get this year. Miss you friend!

    • troyesthoughts May 15, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

      Miss u 2 Erin! My energy at a pretty good level…unfortunately my body clock stinks…I am often up till 2am. Juicing hasn’t fixed that but I am finding that I am sleeping better…Also my seasonal allergies are gone!

Leave a Reply

