Day 33 – continuing to turn down the insulin dial

17 May

Day 33 & I’m 27lbs down, on 1/4 of the insulin I was on before starting this journey and now able to pull of shorts that didn’t fit me last summer-without even opening the button! I also have more energy then I’ve had in a LONG time.

I got to juice basil from my garden today…however when I went out there, it was clear that a critter had been in my plants! Some of my parsley had been uprooted & my chili pepper plant had been knocked over and I lost 3 of the peppers that were growing on it:( however, I fixed the plants and am trying some netting given to me by a kind neighbor. I can’t wait till I get veggies to juice! I’m so thankful for the knowledge and help from my friend Krystal and my neighbor Lineé (I bet I spelled her name wrong).

Today’s juice was a slight variation on yesterday’s…I liked yesterday’s better but everyones taste buds are different. I don’t have a name for this one but I’m open to suggestions if you want to post one in the comments!

20130517-230116.jpg
20 strawberries
3 baby bok choy
I head broccoli
10 (or so) leaves kale (I just used the handful I had left in the bag)
12 leaves romaine lettuce
1 handful basil
1 handful parsley
1/2 a head fennel
1 small handful broccoli sprouts (cause I needed to use them up)
1 super huge cucumber (2 regular sized ones would work)

Makes about 48oz juice

That’s all for today…I hope you share your ideas about what to call this juice!

6 Responses to “Day 33 – continuing to turn down the insulin dial”

  1. DogMa May 19, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    Berry Green! Can you share what juicer you are using? Apologies, I may have missed that detail early on.

  2. Kate May 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    what kind of netting? We have a chipmunk or something digging up our sprouted plants, trying to get to the roots or something. Making me nuts!

    • troyesthoughts May 20, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

      I have no idea what it’s called…it’s black, mine came on a roll..James saw some in a square package at Walmart’s garden dept.

Leave a Reply

