Day 36- Met with my Endocrinologist today

21 May

My Dr. has been on maternity leave and today was her first day back. She was thrilled to know how great my sugars have been and how much weight I’ve lost (29lbs as of today:) while she doesn’t completely understand how I’m getting all of the nutrients and protein my body needs, she’s certainly being supportive-which is not typical of people in the medical field! She has some ideas and is working with me to get me off of insulin…I’m willing to try it her way because we both have the same goal and she has more experience with this then I do.

Since my tests looked good when I got them done at the beginning of May, we are going to wait until I break my juice fast (last day is June 13th) to get labs done again. The really big take away for me today was (and somehow in the 10 plus years I’ve been dealing with this disease I never got this) when I loose weight (I think she said something like 30% of my body fat) my body has the chance to actually utilize the insulin my pancreas produces…my main problem is that my body has been completely unable to utilize the insulin it produces…the fat in my body is what is making me “insulin resistant” So I’m all for continuing to drop weight, even after my juice fast is over.

Today I made (in a rush and without pictures…I had to get to my dr. Appt.) Oh Sweet Broccoli Juice I’m posting the pic from the website…Warning; the color of the juice isn’t beautiful but it tasted pretty good 🙂 I did modify it a bit to make it a quart and a half.

20130521-002304.jpg

Ingredients:
2 heads of broccoli (florets and stalks)
2 oranges
1 grapefruit
3 cucumbers
1 head Romaine
4 carrots

Tomorrow I’m exercising with some friends first thing in the morning so I’ve got to get to bed…I wish I was more excited about exercising…the only time I’ve ever truly ENJOYED exercising is when I was paddling on an outrigger canoe team in Hawaii….but I haven’t done that since 2005…I wish I could be one of those people who loves exercising and is super disciplined about it. I guess we’ll see what happens 🙂

4 Responses to “Day 36- Met with my Endocrinologist today”

  1. Steve Rabon May 21, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I hear stories about doctors really being unsure of pure food fasts all the time. I think it’s great that you are sticking to your guns and making this work! I also disagree with them that it isn’t possible to get proteins on a juice fast (I had a gentleman lecture me for 10 minutes about not getting any protein while on a juice fast).

    However, by my calculation your juice this morning had around 15-19g of protein alone, which is very close to a normal 100 calorie serving of protein.

    – Broccoli = 3.8 grams
    – 2 Oranges = 2 grams
    – Grapefruit = 1.77 grams
    – Cucumbers = 2.1 grams
    – Romaine (1 entire head) = 7.7 grams

    To compare, your juice this morning looks like it was equal to or greater than most grilled chicken items (in terms of protein content) on the McDonald’s menu. Keep up the great work!

    • troyesthoughts May 21, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Awesome! Thanks Steve! I also explained to her that kale has more protein per calorie then steak…I love that fact:)

  2. Linda May 21, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    Regarding exercise, when you first start walking every day it might seem like a chore. But the more you walk, the more you want to walk. It grows on you after awhile until you just HAVE to get out and walk!

    • troyesthoughts May 21, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

      🙂 thanks Linda…it’s the starting part I seem to be missing:(

Leave a Reply

