Day 38 – baking cookies and drinking juice

23 May

On Sunday morning when I woke up and walked out of the bedroom, I was hit with (like a ton of bricks) the smell of freshly baking cookies. I was not pleased. I was more then not pleased-I was annoyed…and I even posted about how annoyed I was on Facebook. Some time ago one of the neighborhood kids was doing a school fundraiser and caught my husband at home….by himself…So hubby got a tub of cookie dough. I NEVER buy that stuff. I’m perfectly happy making cookies from scratch…in the past I have purchased small packages of Pre-made cookie dough from the grocery store, but it’s been years.

Fast forward to today…I’m preparing to host a last minute ladies night (hubby had a softball game). Today was a busy day-at the last minute I was needed to watch my friend’s 4 year old son Eli (who I sooo adore). My agenda included cleaning the house (I seriously need to host events just to ensure my house actually gets cleaned), the Wednesday farmers market, and since I had taken Eli’s big sister strawberry picking last week, I had to stop at the strawberry field to do it again today. Oh-and then I had to prepare snacks for my event….and since I would like the cookie dough out of my fridge, I baked about 20 cookies. And continued to get ready. I also served some veggies including some beautiful carrots I picked up at the farmers market that included yellow carrots in the bunch with hummus for dipping…and of course, chips and salsa and a block of cream cheese covered in hot pepper jelly. To drink, I served infused waters. One was strawberry lime and the other was cucumber, lemon & mint. Even if I was eating, the only thing I served that I would have eaten was the veggies! For some reason the smell of the cookies didn’t bother me at all and neither did preparing the other munchies. I just sipped on my Super Jugo juice (a variation if a juice I had last week called Mexican Style Jugo

20130523-003106.jpg
8-12 leaves Kale
1 Head Romaine Lettuce
3 cucumbers
3 poblano peppers (I removed the seeds from 2 of them)
1 handful cilantro
1 handful parsley
1 handful basil
2 limes (I realize there was only 1 pictured but I added too much cilantro so I needed a second one)
1-2 Granny Smith Apples (not pictured)
Makes about a Quart and a half

Most of the guests at my get together tried it and liked it…so, Super Jugo was a hit:) And I have less cookie dough in my fridge and a good time was had by all. All in all, it was a great day. Tomorrow night I will be cooking as we will have guests from out of the area over for dinner. Should be interesting.

2 Responses to “Day 38 – baking cookies and drinking juice”

  1. Mara Monahan May 23, 2013 at 12:59 am #

    Ok gonna have to try this juice. What’s it taste like? Is it sweet or spicy or savory? I’m scared of the peppers!!

    • troyesthoughts May 23, 2013 at 1:05 am #

      The peppers aren’t very hot…it has a bit of a kick-but not as much of one as when I use a jalapeño in other juices. If you’re nervous, just take the seeds out if all 3 of the poblanos. It’s more savory

Leave a Reply

