Day 39 & 40

24 May

I couldn’t post yesterday due to a storm knocking out our Internet last night but thankfully it’s back up and running today…day 40…whoa! 3 weeks from today I will be eating my first meal in 60 days….doesn’t seem so far off.

Speaking of meals, we had company over for dinner…which I cooked and seriously did not feel like I was missing out on anything-which was strange because it smelled wonderful. I made lemon herb chicken breasts with lemon zest, garlic, salt & pepper, covered in rosemary, thyme & winter savory (from my garden) baked on a bed of sliced spring onion & lemon slices with white wine poured over everything, roasted Brussel sprouts with rosemary & thyme and garlic & onions (a favorite side dish of mine) and quinoa to soak up the wine sauce on the chicken. I also made a delicious (looking) chopped salad with fabulous ingredients I found at the farmers market-oak leaf lettuce (I had never even heard of it before) & spinach for the base, some purple basil from my garden, broccoli (also from the farmers market), a tomato plus 3 cherry tomatoes from my garden, chopped red pepper, half of a radish (the radish was the size of a 4 year old’s fist-thank you farmers market) and some raw sunflower & pumpkin seeds with a few shakes of nutritional yeast mixed in. I also made a raspberry balsamic dressing (I thawed about half a cup of frozen raspberries and threw them in the magic bullet with 6 or so oz of balsamic vinegar and 4 or 5 medijool dates). My husband and our guests enjoyed the meal and I enjoyed my strawberry mojito in a fancy wine glass and we had a wonderful time visiting.

Speaking of my drinking juice, I’m feeling like I’m drinking a little less juice over the last couple of days…not sure what that’s about or if it has anything to do with my female cycle as today’s juice needs to include beets for extra iron. While I usually drink 2 1/2 quarts a day, the last couple of days I’ve only been drinking about 2 quarts.

Yesterday (day 39) I started my day with a pint of Apricots in the Green juice (another of my own recipes) which was left over from the day before.

20130524-110930.jpg
10-15 leaves kale
10-15 leaves romaine lettuce (or 1 romaine heart)
1 handful dandelion greens (about half a bunch)
1/2 lemon (with peel)
7 apricots (pit removed)
3 zucchini
1-2 apples (I used Fuji)
Makes about 1 Quart

Today I’m having Dracula’s Dream Juice and Joe’s Mean Green. Looking forward to seeing some girlfriends this evening….I think this is the most social week I’ve had in over a year….I’m really starting to feel like my old happy and social self again 🙂

2 Responses to “Day 39 & 40”

  1. caroline May 24, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Troye- so glad this is working for you, once I’m done with the 21 day cleanse I may have to try just juicing. Are you doing any suplemements as well- B12 etc.?

    • troyesthoughts May 24, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      Caroline-the only supplement I’ve been taking is garden of life brand prenatal (to help prepare for a desired pregnancy).

Leave a Reply

