Day 43 & 44

29 May

Yesterday I got to go on a date with my husband. We went to see The Great Gatsby at a really great little movie theater in downtown. The movie was great but the smell of popcorn was a bit torturous. Thankfully there weren’t a lot of food scenes. Of course I had my juice with me.

Yesterday’s juice choice involved less of a recipe and more of a putting together of ingredients that seemed interesting (and that needed to get used before they spoil). I’m calling the juice below Greens Gone Wild

20130529-014859.jpg
3 handfuls spinach
2 small Fuji apples
1 cucumber
1/2 a head of broccoli
5 spears asparagus
5 carrots (green tops are optional….they seem to kind of get stuck in my juicer)
1 head Tatsoi (some sort of Asian leafy veggie in the bok choy family…yay farmers market!)
1 grapefruit

As it turns out, more of my friends are watching the movie ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’ and are becoming interested in juicing. I’m thrilled! One of my friends started a raw diet today in order to prepare her body for a short term juice fast…it’s funny because about 2 years ago we went paleo at the same time. She is pretty healthy and very fit but has some health issues she is hoping this will address. I also spoke to another friend today who is considering trying a juice fast in the near future. I encouraged her to add at least a green smoothie to her diet each day and possibly 1 serving of juice. Then when stress factors calm down, she may consider something like the 21 day raw reset in order to really prepare her body for a juice fast. I’m excited to be a support for people making healthier choices for their lives 🙂

Today I made a fantabulous juice I will call Krazy Cantaloupe. This was super yummy & super easy!

20130529-020649.jpg
1/2 of a cantaloupe
2 cucumbers
1 head of bok choy
Makes about 48oz

I also had Green Carrot Ginger Juice(not my own recipe) but I had to use up those beautiful & colorful farmers market carrots so I can pick up more:) I doubled the recipe and had close to a quart and a half of juice.

Leave a Reply

