Day 45

29 May

Day 45…wow…I can’t believe I’m here! My shedding of pounds seems to have slowed down…I’ve been down 35lbs for a handful of days now. I realize that if I was better about exercising, that would help….I seriously need to get on that…even if its just walking the dogs. My goal is to loose 50 pounds by the end of my 60 day juice fast. I’m curious to see how my body responds to insulin at that point…I’m hoping the significant weight loss will help my body become less insulin resistant and allow my body to utilize the insulin it produces on its own.

I’ve been thinking about food quite a bit. I live in a subdivision that is out in the country. This means to get anywhere I have to drive past fields and crops. (I’m from NYC…to me, this is the country) Lately I’ve been seeing lambs and calves grazing in fields (along with adult animals) and all I can think when I see them is…YUM! I LOVE pasture raised lamb and grass-fed steaks. However, I am clear that it really will have to be a while before I consider reintroducing animal products to my diet. As much as I love it and will miss it, I really want to be well. Eating a plant based diet & juicing is working better for my body then anything else I have done. I’m guessing when I break my fast on June 14th it will be with a piece of fruit or maybe one of the awesome yellow carrots I get at my local farmers market and then some kind of smoothie. I’ve still got a couple of weeks to figure it out but I am thinking about it.

I got some fabulous hand me downs today from a friend who I had not seen since the beginning of March (this journey started April 1st). She insisted that most of the clothes that she gave me which are a size smaller then most of what I have been wearing, are still too big. I found them comfortable. Having my clothes be too big is a wonderful problem to have, as far as I’m concerned 🙂

Today’s juices were Spring Green Strawberry Juice which I made a couple of weeks ago and a new juice I am calling Neon Vitamins

20130529-231404.jpg
1/2 a small green cabbage
1 green apple
1 small red apple (I used Fuji)
2 limes
1 yellow zucchini
5 stalks celery
12 spears asparagus
Makes a bit more then 1 quart

My photo doesn’t do justice to the color of this delicious juice but here’s what I’ve got

20130529-231733.jpg

Has anyone tried any of my original juice recipes (otherwise known as my concoctions)? If so, I’d love to know which ones and what you thought. If you haven’t tried any yet are there any you are considering adding to your own juice menu?

Leave a Reply

