Day 48 & 49

3 Jun

Day 49…I have mixed feelings about the fact that I’m approaching the end of my juice fast. My weight loss has certainly slowed down (I will weigh myself tomorrow) and I’m really hoping to reach my goal of loosing 50lbs by the end of this fast. I’m getting a bit nervous though because I don’t think I’ve hit 40lbs yet and I’m only 12 days away from breaking my fast. However, I’m really excited for all of the foods I will be able to add back into my daily routine.

I’ve been checking out different raw food resources and pinning all kinds of recipes to my raw and vegan food boards on Pinterest. Today I came across an awesome resource of recipes and “how to” videos- The Raw Chef. Russell James is really passionate about helping people be successful in adding raw meals to their diet. He also has a blog. Looking at all those recipes got me excited about the things I will get to eat when it’s time. I realize that I just can’t go back to eating quite the way I was even though I was eating mostly healthy things (except for the milk chocolate). I’m really putting together a plan i feel will help me be successful in reaching my health goals-the main goal being getting off of insulin.

I took some of Mara’s advice from her list of tips for juicing and watched a couple more food-related documentaries this weekend. The first one was “Food Fight”. It’s a great movie about the history and politics of food becoming industrialized and what some communities are doing to combat that. It made me extra glad that I have a local farmers market with local farmers I can buy food directly from. However, it did also make me want food…there were lots of food and eating scenes. If you can watch it before your juice fast, that would be better. The second movie was “Hungry for Change” and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND watching this one! It had all kinds of statistics on obesity and illness and information on really how toxic some of the things we put into our bodies really are. There are several well known people in the health and wellness field who participated in making this film who are getting a whole lot of valuable information out in a way that is personal and really hits home. If you are wondering about where to find out about these types of movies, there is a list (I haven’t seen everything on this yet).

I also tried a new juice this weekend that both the hubby and I really enjoyed (which shares a name with a beer we both like) Shock Top The rest of the juices were ones I have already posted…I’m really loving the Krazy Cantaloupe. I had to use up the other half of the melon so I made it again 🙂 I didn’t have any bok choy so I used some romaine lettuce instead…it totally worked. Hubby liked that one too.

I will leave you with a great quote from “Hungry for Change” (seriously make sure you watch this movie-soon! It’s on Netflix)

20130603-002403.jpg

6 Responses to “Day 48 & 49”

  1. Steve Rabon June 4, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks for the link to that raw food website. My sister is trying to be Vegan and the hardest thing for her is finding variety. I think she has found three or four different foods she really enjoys that fit her diet and just eats those 70-80% of the time.

    Hungry For Change was the documentary that really hit home with me (and I watched a lot of them). I thought their attitude of just starting adding the good stuff in and letting it help push the bad stuff out was a huge ah-ha moment for me. I definitely recommend that film!

    Nice work on your fast!

    • troyesthoughts June 4, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Steve-that makes sense…I’m switching to a Vegan diet when I reintroduce food (which is a huge change for me since I’ve been mostly paleo for the last 2 years) and I’ve been finding all different vegan & raw recipes…I’ve been pinning a bunch to my Pinterest boards too.

      I’ve watched several documentaries too and really like Hungry for Change….Food Matters was the second “food movie” I watched which was a couple of years ago (the first was Food Inc). It’s more about the pharmaceutical industry and how using food for healing is so discouraged in western medicine…it’s another one worth watching if you haven’t already seen it.

      Keep up the good work with adding the good stuff to your diet!

  2. mamaemme June 4, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Loved reading all your blog; started at the beginning and went all the way through.
    Thanks for sharing your journey! I’ve been moving back towards a vegetarian diet; I’ve always been healthier and felt better eating that way….

    • troyesthoughts June 4, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

      Excellent mamaemme! Thanks for taking the time to read:) Keep doing something wonderful for your body adding the healthy foods where you can!

  3. Mara Monahan June 5, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Troye – you are doing great! Hungry for Change is a favorite of mine too. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

