Day 52 & 53 progress & observations

7 Jun

Day 52 and finally 5 days later, I have lost a pound…I have now shed 39 pounds. My size 18 pants were starting to get tight on me when I started this journey and yesterday I was able to put on a pair of Old Navy capris that are a size 14…I tried on another brand in the same size that didn’t fit, but I guess different manufacturers produce different cuts for the same size. It’s definitely progress.

So I’m entertaining again tomorrow morning. One of the realities about army life is that you make friends, and then someone moves. Tomorrow’s get together is to honor someone who I am really sad to see move. She is someone I will greatly miss. We have a lot in common when it comes to desiring a toxic-free lifestyle and we keep each other in the loop about different home made products we make. She has 3 kids and is still breast feeding the youngest who seems to have an allergy to dairy and to gluten. Whenever she goes to a gathering she knows there will be “something” she can eat…however I’ve requested that for this event, everyone bring a gluten and dairy free dish so she can indulge in everything without worrying.

This brings me to an observation about myself….I really use food as a way to honor guests in my home. I’m not making a judgement about it, just noticing. A couple of weeks ago when we had dinner guests, I really wanted to honor them by serving them a meal they would enjoy. However for tomorrow’s event I’m not making any of the cool new raw dishes I have pinned to my Pinterest boards…I think partly since I’m not eating, I can’t taste those along the way and I’m not ready to serve something I’ve never made without tasting it. I did, however, make some goodies I know will taste good including a vanilla pound cake & egg cupcakes which are like mini quiches without a crust. I still need to figure out what juices I will be drinking.

Speaking of juice, my juicing creativity seems to have returned. Today’s juices were both original recipes the first was inspired by the cherry tomatoes I was able to pick from my garden coupled with an awesome root vegetable I found at the farmer’s market yesterday. It is called Summer Garden Soup

20130607-025814.jpg
1 stem from a spring onion
3 handfuls cherry tomatoes (I’m guesstimating – I didn’t count them)
5 carrots
2 zucchini (I used yellow ones)
1 clove garlic
1 handful basil
1 handful parsley
1/2 red pepper
1/2 poblano pepper
1 chili pepper
2 stalks celery
1/2 lemon
1 purple root vegetable with leaves (for the life of my, I can’t remember what it’s called but its in the turnip family)
Makes 1 Quart

The second juice was delightful and allowed me to use my 2 lonely peaches and part of the red papaya I bought on a whim. Green Summer Fruit is what I’m calling it for now.

20130607-030634.jpg
8-10 leaves of kale
1/2 a small head of romaine lettuce
3 summer squash
2 peaches
1/4 red papaya (I de-seeded it but left the skin on)
1/2 a lemon (with peel)
Makes 1 Quart

Even my friend’s 18 month old daughter liked it…she knows the sign for more and kept asking for more of my juice. It was sooo cute! Plus I love seeing little ones request healthy things to put in their bodies.

7 Responses to “Day 52 & 53 progress & observations”

  1. Heather June 7, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    I know what you mean about the army and making friends. I am an army wife. About the time I find a new friend and really start to trust our relationship one of us moves away. That is a very sweet idea of you to cater the food to her needs. When it comes to entertaining food is a very big part of our events too.

    • troyesthoughts June 7, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

      Heather- the military life certainly has its challenges but its wonderful to know people that live all over…and with Facebook, it’s way easier to keep in touch. The event went well and everyone brought healthy items 🙂

      • Heather June 7, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

        That is great to hear.

  2. mamaemme June 7, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    Thinking more about juicing since our conversation in Trader Joe’s, especially since I am on a soft food/liquid diet for a few days after a tooth extraction – some of your concoctions would really taste good right now!
    Looking forward to seeing you tomorrow at Sha’arei!

    • troyesthoughts June 7, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

      Emily-go for it! I hope u feel better soon! Juicing is really a great way to get nutrition into your body….I fully intend to keep juice a part of my diet even after the juice fast

  3. Evie June 7, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

    Hi Troye, i think that root could be kohlrabi. Evie in Jakarta

    • troyesthoughts June 8, 2013 at 1:10 am #

      Yes Evie! I think you’re right! That name sounds familiar. Hope you and Tim are well and that we get to see you in the fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

