Day 54

8 Jun

Day 54 brought a handful of wonderful women to my house for a send off for a friend who is moving to her husband’s next duty station. I requested everyone bring something gluten and dairy free so our guest of honor and her nearly year old son could indulge without being worried. It was a success. And what is even better is that everyone brought something healthy and pretty much everything was plant-based. This is the first gathering I was really sorry I couldn’t eat at. However, I did take a piece of “chocolate chip pie” and stuck it in the freezer so I can eat it in a week or so. It has interesting ingredients like beans, oats and dates. How interesting that the day I’m longing for food the most is the day the healthiest foods are in front of me…as opposed to a couple of days ago when I was at an event with papa john’s pizza and a slew of home-made, sugar-filled desserts.

Which reminds me that a week from today (next Friday) I will be breaking my fast. I’m really looking forward to it but I am planning on really taking it easy to coax my digestive system back into working. My friend Alisa asked me what I plan to break my fast with….my plan, as long as I can get them from the farmers market next week, is to break my fast with a yellow carrot. Then, I may add some cucumber from my garden. And I plan on having a smoothie either with pineapple or mango or both as ingredients. I also expect to be drinking at least a quart of juice. However, I did just pin a whole bunch of vegan and raw food recipes. I’m looking forward to trying some of them out…I think I see Nori in my basket on an upcoming shopping trip.

Today was crazy with having company at 11am. Thankfully I have a super, wonderful husband who helped me get the house ready for company. However it wasn’t until the guests were arriving that I was finally getting around to juicing…because things were so frantic, I went with a big batch of an old standard- Joe’s Mean Green. This is the juice I go to when I need to make a juice but just can’t think. One of my guests remarked that what I was drinking looked so refreshing and asked what was in it. I gave her some and she really liked it.

Because its Friday night, I’ve juiced for tomorrow. I still have some mean green left so I made a bit more of a quart of a juice I’m going to call Sunny Roots

20130608-014256.jpg
1 large beet (& greens)
1 Kohlrabi (& greens)
5 carrots
2 oranges
1 small apple (not pictured)
1 romaine heart
1 cucumber
1 romaine heart
Makes about 40oz

6 Responses to “Day 54”

  1. Mara Monahan June 8, 2013 at 11:08 am #

    So excited for you Troye!! You’ll have to keep us up to date on how you are doing after the fast and I will too. Mine ends a week from Monday. My first meal is going to be 1/2 an avocado with some homemade salsa on top – juicing 2 meals out of the day for the first week or two. I also think I’m going to get some probiotics to help out too. Blessings to you my sweet sister in Christ.

    • troyesthoughts June 8, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks Mara-the avocado scares me as a first meal…everything I’ve read says that the most successful transitions(with the least amount of feeling yucky) have the first meals be ingredients we juice. I completely agree about doing 2 juices a day for the first few. I will definitely keep posting and will look forward to reading your blog once its public! I have additional weight I want to loose. I bet thinly sliced jicama would be a great bed for some delicious home made salsa too…almost like a raw chip…but a vegetable…now I’m thinking I want that maybe on day 2! Especially if my cherry tomato plant keeps producing:) as for probiotics, those are always a good idea…I’m in the process of making some kombucha now…it should be ready by Friday:). A nutritionist friend also recommended some digestive enzymes to take with meals. I think I’m going to do that too. Thanks so much for your support and encouragement 🙂 I can’t wait to hear about your acceptance speech for winning your weight loss competition!

  2. fattygoaway June 9, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Hello there. Congrats on your weight loss so far. I am about to start a juicing fast of my own starting tomorrow. Good luck on cracking the 50!! Karen

    • troyesthoughts June 9, 2013 at 6:02 pm #

      Thank you! It doesn’t look like I will hit 50 by the end of the juice fast but my plan is to transition to mostly raw, a plant based diet so I expect I will continue to shed some pounds. How long are you planning to juice fast for?

      • fattygoaway June 10, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

        I’m planning on doing it 30 days. Problem is I can’t stand the green juices so I am sticking to fruit based juices with some carrot or cucumber added in. Just successfully managed day 1 lol

      • troyesthoughts June 10, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

        Yay for day 1!!!! When juice fasting, you do need to be able to tolerate what you’re drinking for sure…just be careful of getting too much sugar from overdoing fruits. Keep trying to add greens to your juice every few days…your taste buds will change….April 1st, I couldn’t stand celery. After a few days I started adding 1 stalk…then a week later I added half of what the recipe called for….then a week after that I was able to use all of what the recipe called for….do u know which ingredient is the problem? U can alway sub some of them out…romaine lettuce and bok choy are both light-tasting greens….also dinosaur or laticino kale is less bitter then regular kale. If u can isolate the ingredients you are having a tough time with, here is a good resource for healthful substitutions: http://www.rebootwithjoe.com/juicing/substitution-list/

Leave a Reply

