Day 55, 56 & 57

10 Jun

The last 3 days have been pretty busy. However, i reached another milestone-I weighed myself first thing Saturday morning (day 55) and I have shed 40lbs! Wool-hoo!!! I’m now right about the weight I was when I got married 7 years ago which was before the horrors of weight gain from going on insulin, fertility drugs and comfort eating through the process of loosing my dad & after the 10lbs I gained from when I first met my husband the year before. Recently I have been so aware that my engagement ring and wedding band fit like they are supposed to which has been nice. They had been really tight for a long time.

Saturday we went to synagogue and then stayed with a friend up in Cary to help her move on Sunday. I brought my juicer and made Krazy Cantaloupe along with another juice I forgot to take pictures that consisted of
3 pears
1 small Fuji apple
10 leaves Kale
3 handfuls baby spinach
1 bulb fennel
1/2 a lemon

They were both delicious but the cantaloupe is really a favorite…and hubby and my friend Jaime both enjoyed it. Plus this time I used a Tuscan cantaloupe which was even tastier.

20130610-182412.jpg
The fruit looks the same but the melon with the ridges is just a bit sweeter.

***Warning-will be talking about bodily function related stuff…quit reading now if u get super grossed out…there will be a second warning if u can handle the info but not the gross stuff***

So I have yet to do my coffee enema even though I’m convinced that I should have been doing them once a week through this entire fast. It will happen soon….however, I decided to do a liver flush after a fellow juice fasting friend recommended it. Toxins are stored in our fat cells. 40lbs is now gone and now all of the toxins that fat was protecting me from are now floating around my body and presumably are hanging out in my liver. I want the toxins out so my organs will work properly (not just my liver but my pancreas too) so I can get off of insulin entirely. Enter, liver flush. You can google the term and there are a couple of different recipes but the methods are pretty much the same. Here is what I did:

First I cleared my calendar for Sunday evening and all day Monday
Nothing to eat or drink after 2:00 p.m. or you could get sick. (little sips of water are fine, just not 20 minutes on either side of the salt water drinks) (I drank 1 1/2 quarts of juice before 2pm that day)
Mix 4 Tablespoons of epsom salt into 3 cups of water, until salt is dissolved. (I used warm, filtered water)
6:00 p.m. drink 3/4 cup (6oz) of the salt water mixture
8:00 p.m. drink 3/4 cup of the salt water mixture
9:45 p.m. mix 1/2 cup of olive oil with 3/4 cup of freshly squeezed (or juiced with a juicer) grapefruit juice and drink within 5 minutes (I only needed 1 grapefruit-I wish I had put the mixture in the blender to emulsify the oil a bit-I think it would have gone down easier…I also wish I had used a lighter tasting oil-I used EVOO)
Lay down IMMEDIATELY (do not clean the kitchen, do not pass go and collect $200-go straight to bed) on your back and be still for at least 20 minutes. You need to keep your head elevated above your stomach while you are laying down.
6-6:30 a.m. Upon awakening, but not before 6:00 a.m. drink 3/4 cup of the salt mixture.
8-8:30 a.m. Drink the remainder of the salt mixture.
10-10:30 you can have juice now.

I added lemon to the salt mixture in hopes of making it go down a little easier. I also kept my concoction in the fridge. The salt water was gross, period. However I found that while I’ve never been able to chug beer, I was able to chug all 3 drinks last night.

About 10 minutes before the second saltwater drink, I was in the bathroom….it was certainly flushing my system. I chugged the second one and spent the better part of the evening in and out of the bathroom. So much so that I was late in getting my grapefruit/olive oil concoction into my system. I was back in the bathroom once after I drank the concoction and then in bed for the night with my head elevated. I didn’t want to sleep like that cause I knew my neck would hurt in the morning and I couldn’t be on my iPad because the instructions say to be still. So I used the time to pray. And I must say, it was a sweet time of prayer and communing with G-d.

***second and final warning…I will be talking about results and yucky bodily functions below***

Then today I woke up around 7ish and had my first salt water drink (which was much more difficult to chug today then it was yesterday) and waited…and nothing really happened for a while….and then again, right before I had to drink the second drink I was in he bathroom…and it was kind of gross. I started to eliminate gallstones which kind of look like rabbit droppings that float to the top of the toilet bowl while the bile sinks to the bottom. After the second drink, I found myself in the bathroom for most of the day.

I don’t feel like I eliminated a ton of gallstones but I know I was getting rid of other mucusy looking yuck. I’m sure I got rid of a bunch of toxins. I felt ok the first part of the day but felt like junk as the day wore on. About an hour after the second saltwater drink i had a pint of water. Later on I had about 8oz of coconut water-I was feeling really dehydrated. I was soooo not in the mood for a juice. I just didn’t feel very well in the afternoon and had spent sooooo much time in the bathroom. I finally had a pint of juice around 4pm. I plan to have another this evening. However, I have not felt hungry at all through out this entire process. I’m drinking plenty of water to rehydrate and as the evening continues, I have been able to stay out of the bathroom for the last couple of hours. I would recommend keeping some baby wipes in your bathroom if u choose to do this…I really wished I had some earlier today and was just not up to a DIY to make my own.

Well, that was my liver flush experience…anyone have any toxin eliminating experiences to share?

12 Responses to “Day 55, 56 & 57”

  1. staciepittard June 10, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    (This may be the second time I comment…Wordpress is being weird)

    Please be careful with the coffee enemas. The studies behind that are actually extremely weak, and the claims come from evidence that has been tampered with (the guy who ran those studies actually got into trouble). There are studies, however, that show coffee enemas can lead to things like sepsis, colitis and other potentially dangerous things.

    If you decide to do them, please look into other studies that have a more sound basis before jumping into it. Don’t take someone’s word for it that it works. There’s very little, if any, evidence that shows they do what they claim to do, and this has some serious risks associated with it. You have come so far in this journey of yours, and I would hate to see you end up with more problems than when you first started.

    • troyesthoughts June 10, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

      Stacie-have u heard of Max Gerson? He is the guy who found these to be part of a profound healing process that has helped cure people of cancer and other diseases. I’ve known of people to have success with using them to cure migraines. If u have any studies you want me to check out, feel free to message them to me on FB:). I sooo appreciate your concern and looking out for me!

      • staciepittard June 10, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

        Yeah I know who he is. The thing is though is that he never really conducted his experiments in a way that proved anything, and he even got called out a few times. I have no doubt that they would help with migraines, as consuming coffee in general is known to help with migrains (which I can say from experience as well). One question I would ask is would you advocate consuming the amount of coffee Gerson prescribes orally? That was just a question that came to mind while thinking about the coffee enemas mixed with your ideas about food consumption (which overall I don’t disagree with).

        These are a couple articles I found off of the top if my head. There were a couple more I looked at when I first studied around. My best advise is that if you’re really convinced that you should do it, you should seek professional assistance. Most of these issues occurred outside of clinical trials and atmospheres, even when people try to do it properly.

        http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1021723/?page=1

        http://m.cancer.org/treatment/treatmentsandsideeffects/complementaryandalternativemedicine/dietandnutrition/gerson-therapy

        http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/pdq/cam/gerson/healthprofessional/page1/AllPages

        http://www.nature.com/ajg/journal/v105/n1/full/ajg2009505a.html

      • troyesthoughts June 10, 2013 at 10:28 pm #

        People who have gone through the therapy beat cancer are certainly proof that Gerson Therapy works…there isn’t going to be a “scientific study” done because those are funded by drug companies that would have nothing to gain but everything to loose if a “study” proved that an organic, plant-based diet coupled with 13 juices a day and coffee enemas 4x a day worked to rid people’s bodies of cancer. The drug companies make money off people being sick, not well. And they certainly aren’t going to make any money off people buying organic foods and supplements.

        Not that there is one answer for everyone, but I’ve watched the movie The Gerson Miracle on Netflix and people who were given 2 years to live by their traditional doctors we’re still alive 10 years later when choosing the Gerson Therapy over Chemo & radiation.

        Plus the coffee used in the coffee enemas (when done correctly) is not the same kind of coffee we drink.. It organic and is a light, air-roasted coffee…from what I gather, it wouldn’t taste very good if u were to drink it. This is very different in caffeine content and roasting method then the traditional coffee people drink.

        So you’re absolutely correct in saying that these things are not recommended by traditional doctors…they would be out of a job if they recommended things that work. I won’t say that I’ll never listen to a traditional doctor, however, I’m not going to blindly follow their advice either. In doing my own research, I’m finding things other then prescription meds that help with disease and ailments…plus they “try” remedies on me…when what they have tried didn’t work, I decided to try other things…I mean if we’re “trying” things out on my body anyway, I’d rather try things that are less harmful then the meds are anyway.

  2. troyesthoughts June 10, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

    By the way Stacie- I want you to know that I really appreciate your concern….I just reread my response and I realize that didn’t get communicated.

    • staciepittard June 10, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

      I think this is simply an issue that hits home sice Jonathan suffers from colitis. We’ve looked at all kinds of alternative stuff and have done lots of research regarding what works (tumeric has practically cured him), what doesn’t, and what can actually make things worse. There are so many things out there that ate misleading, it’s so hard to know the good from the bad.

      • troyesthoughts June 10, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

        That makes sense…it’s amazing, the things turmeric can do!

  3. staciepittard June 10, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    It doesn’t have to be clinical trials funded by pharm. companies to have sound science behind it. There are ways to conduct these types of trials, and there were some things that he did that eas rather sloopy. You watched a bias documentary that gave you evidence that has been known to be exagerated. Plus, there gave been and currently are clinical trials regarding their use, so it not like the greater medical community is completely corrupted. Not to mention, even if they were as greedy as that (and sure, some are)…wouldn’t they delight in profiting off of the coffee enema kits that alternative medicine advocates are profiting from?

    I don’t mean to open up a huge debate. You have every right to do what you feel you need to do with your body. I just simply felt that I should throw in counter thoughts on this subject, since I do have concerns about it. Regardless of what you do, I wish you the best of luck and hope that it helps you.

  4. Heather June 11, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Congratulations on your success! So do you think your liver flush aided in some weight loss as well? Very interesting, now I’m thinking about doing one as well.

    • troyesthoughts June 11, 2013 at 10:55 am #

      It did! I will be posting details about that tonight.

      • Heather June 11, 2013 at 11:15 am #

        Well alright then! I’ll be looking forward to that 🙂

Leave a Reply

