Day 58 preparing to eat again

12 Jun

Day 58-I’m 3 days away from eating food! Plus today I felt fantastic after yesterday’s yuck from the liver flush….so it was totally worth it. Plus it looks like I lost 4 pounds of toxins! So I’ve now shed 44lbs since April 1st!

As excited as I am to eat, part of me feels like it would be easier to just keep juicing….I mean its way easier to avoid the bad stuff if the only thing I can have is juice. However, I have pinned a whole bunch of raw and other vegan recipes that I’m really excited to try…plus my friend Eatafania that brought the Heart of Palm Ceviche to last week’s get together gave me the recipe. I fully intend to make it on Sunday or Monday (without the ketchup & mustard) and eat it on thinly sliced jicama. I’ll post the recipe for you below:
These are the ingredients.

A jar of Palm Heart
1 quarter of red onion (you can use more if you want 😉 )
4 Roma tomatoes
1 peeled cucumber
Cilantro and parsley ( You can add the amount of your choice )
6 Limes
1 Orange
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
This is optional, but I like to add : 1 Tablespoon of Mustard and 2 TS of Ketchup
Salt and pepper
I like to add 1 Jalapeño because I like it spicy, so if you do like spicy go ahead add a jalapeño.
Directions:
Chop the onion very fine and set aside in a little bowl and squeeze 4 limes and some salt. Let it set so the onion gets soft and concentrate with the lime juice.
Meanwhile slice the palm hearts, chop the the tomatoes and cucumber in little squares. Finely chop the cilantro and parsley. Put everything in a bowl. The add the onion with the lime juice. Squeeze the juice of the orange. Then, add the olive oil. Add the mustard and ketchup. Also the salt and pepper. Squeeze another lime or two. Mixed everything together. Let it set in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes and that’s it. Ready to serve. 🙂

While I was pinning recipes today, I decided to look for a recipe for veggie broth….I’ve been making chicken soup for forever…and I make a darn good “Jewish Mother”, knock that cold right out of you, chicken soup out of the bones. But it had never occurred to me to make a veggie broth before….so I found this recipe that I liked and then modified it (cause I’m lousy at following recipes exactly). Mine is called String Soup (cause in order to make it u need some string or twine)

20130612-000326.jpg
String Soup
Ingredients:
2 zucchini (I used 1 green & 1 yellow) (chopped in large chunks)
2 spring onions quartered (and I threw in the green stems too)
4 cloves garlic (peeled & cut in half)
2 turnips (chopped in large chunks)
1 pound of carrots (chopped in large chunks)
5 stalks of celery (chopped in half or thirds)
1 head broccoli (cut up)
1/2 head cauliflower (cut up)
2T cumin
Carrot top greens
I large branch fresh rosemary
1 handful fresh thyme
2 T dried Nettles, 1 T burdock root, 1 T Pau D’arco, 10 whole peppercorns
1-2 T Coconut oil
8 quarts water

Tools:
Cheesecloth
Fillable tea bag or herb infuser
Large stock pot

Directions:
In a large stock pot on medium/high heat, drop in your coconut oil. Once melted, toss in the onions (w/o the stems) and 1T cumin and sauté for a couple of minutes. Then add in the garlic, zucchini, turnips, carrots & rest of the cumin. While all that is going, prepare your cheesecloth
Take all the carrot top greens I had (3 bunches), a branch of rosemary and a bunch of thyme from my garden and tied them up in the piece of cheesecloth.
Stir contents in pot
Put nettles, burdock root, Pau d’arco & peppercorns in herb diffuser or tea bag
Once cumin looks well distributed and veggies look coated, pour in your water.
Add spring onion stems, broccoli, cauliflower & celery
Then add your cheese cloth package
Add herb infuser and tie it to the pot’s handle
Bring to a boil for 5 minutes and then reduce to a simmer for a couple of hours

For broth:
Put a strainer in a large bowl and pour soup in…lift out strainer with veggies and you have broth…you could also strain it through a nut milk bag once it cools down if you prefer.
For soup:
In batches, put veggies with some broth in a blender (preferably a high powered one) and purée. Make sure to mix all batches together before storing in separate containers.

I made both soup & broth…my house smelled wonderful and the broth was delicious! Since the clear broth would be like drinking herbal tea, I decided it was fine to drink some while on my juice fast. Not bad for someone who never made vegetable soup before…maybe being vegan for a while wont be as scary as I thought. Hubby enjoyed the soup with large chunks of veggies.

20130612-003830.jpg

Well, that’s enough talk about food. I made a new juice today I’m open to names…I have no idea what to call it:

10 carrots
1 kohlrabi
1 green apple
2 small red (Fuji) apples
1 cucumber
2 stalks celery
1/2 small green cabbage
1 lime

20130612-004514.jpg.

I hope that all made sense…it’s late and I had a full day…tomorrow I will be bottling my kombucha. Let me know what names you come up with for today’s juice!

2 Responses to “Day 58 preparing to eat again”

  1. Sarah Popp June 12, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    You’re looking really great! Do you think that you have more energy when you are eating raw or when you are juicing?

    • troyesthoughts June 12, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      That’s a good question Sarah…I’ll have to let u know when I go back to eating raw. When I was eating raw before I started my juice fast I was detoxing so I did not have a ton of energy then but I have a lot more energy now then I’ve had in a long time and I expect that to continue….btw I hear that there are a lot of fresh produce options in Seoul Korea 😉

Leave a Reply

