Day 1 post juice fast-I almost kept going

15 Jun

Post fast day 1…ended up being a wonderful and completely nutso day. I had an appointment at noon and brought juice with me-thankfully I followed my own advice and brought enough juice for the rest of my day…cause I planned on being home by 3pm the latest and didn’t make it home till after 6. I thought I was gonna blow actually breaking my fast….as in just juice for the day.

I thought I read all of the instructions in Young and Raw’s guide about breaking the fast in a healthy way which means 3 days of juices & smoothies before introducing solid foods…apparently I missed the part that said on day 1 I should juice all day and do a smoothie for dinner…which is exactly what I did because that’s how my day unfolded…as opposed to me actually planning it out that way. I only knew I wanted to make sure that I was home when I broke my fast….just in case. After cooking for my wonderful husband and our friend Christie, I had a delicious tropical smoothie with kale and fruits that I love but couldn’t use during the juice fast because when juiced, those fruits spike my blood sugar.

20130615-001456.jpg
Tropical Kale Smoothie
1 banana (frozen)
1 cup pineapple
1 cup mango
3-5 leaves kale
1-2 cups filtered water

It made a big smoothie….I only drank bout 10 or so ounces…I’ll have the rest tomorrow πŸ™‚ the good news is that I still feel great! I didn’t have to run to the bathroom like I was afraid of and I’m excited to have more tomorrow:) My blood sugar did become elevated though (to 177 2 hours after consumption) which did not excite me….we will see how tomorrow goes…I may have to switch to a berry smoothie. So I didn’t break the fast with a carrot as intended but I’m closer to being able to have one πŸ˜‰

Tomorrow is another busy day so I need to get to bed but I wanted to make sure to post that I successfully broke the fast and am still feeling great! I’m so thankful for all of the positive and supportive comments!

4 Responses to “Day 1 post juice fast-I almost kept going”

  1. Linda June 15, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    Yay! You look so beautiful!

    • troyesthoughts June 15, 2013 at 12:48 am #

      Awwww-thanks Linda! So glad we had an impromptu get together this week!

  2. tina June 15, 2013 at 2:21 am #

    You look amazing!!!
    Not to mention still happy to be drinking juice!

Leave a Reply

