Days 4, 5 & 6 post juice fast

20 Jun

The last few days have been nuts! Today is no exception but I want to make sure to post because I’m finally eating food-more then just fruit.

Day 4 of the break-fast started out with a smoothie and was the first day I planned on adding salad to my diet…my day didn’t unfold as planned. Hubby had an unexpected day off and we did some running around which included lunch at a Korean buffet. Hubby had all kinds of chicken & beef dishes on fried rice…however there were a whole bunch of absolutely delicious raw veggie options with some noodles made from sweet potatoes. There was Kim Chee (a spicy, fermented napa cabbage dish), cucumber Kim Chee, a zucchini & onion salad, pickled radishes, seasoned shredded radish, & pickled radish greens. There was also romaine lettuce to use as a wrap. That unexpected meal was absolutely delicious and I felt great after eating it. I ate to the point of feeling totally full. That is a feeling I had not had in a while! I may need to eat a bit slower…I did, however, enjoy each bite. It was also really nice to be able to enjoy a meal with my husband in a restaurant. It had been over 2 months since we had done that!

20130620-100118.jpg

My friend Emily came over and i made her a juice which matched her shirt:) (the juice is pink, her shirt is pink…but the pic doesn’t do them justice). I was glad to be able to share a delicious juice with a friend!

20130620-100605.jpg

Day 5 included 2 smoothies and some spikes in my blood sugar 😦 however it was normal by the time I went to bed. I ended up not having any juice which was not a good thing. I also had a bunch of pinto bean hummus on cucumbers which tasted great but is not agreeing with me. I am taking some digestive enzymes to help, but I forgot to take them when I had the hummus…I bet I wouldn’t be feeling so lousy if I had remembered. I’m still not feeling great on day 6…I also defrosted the healthy chocolate chip pie that my friend Teena brought over to a gathering at my house earlier in the month..I have another friend who is cutting out gluten & processed sugar and wanted to share it with her. Even though this is the time of month I traditionally love to eat chocolate, it wasn’t as exciting as I thought it would be. The pie was great but I was surprised I didn’t delight in the chocolate part (it is dairy free chocolate chips) like I expected to. So my day 5 food choices did not agree with me.

Today is the beginning of day 6 which I am starting with my routine lemon water and will be making some juice and smoothies to take with me on this busy day. I also picked up some fresh-picked blackberries so those will come in my cooler too:) I have my doctor’s appointment today to get the results of my lab work that I took last week at the end of my juice fast. I’m looking forward to good news!

6 Responses to “Days 4, 5 & 6 post juice fast”

  1. legendslayer June 20, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Oh I can’t WAIT to hear what your doctor has to say!! I bet he is shocked with your results…keep us posted!
    Mara

  2. Bridget June 20, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

    Troye, if you plan to ease into caveman diet from the fast, stay away from beans! (or are you done with that?) I know, hummus is so damn tasty (so is tabouleh!) but, the tummy troubles make it so un-worthwhile. Have some animal protein instead! xoxo, BE

    • troyesthoughts June 20, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      Bridget-while I I really love a primal type diet, it did not help heal my body. I plan to continue to eat vegan for a while which I’m hoping will help me get off of insulin entirely. Once my body is functioning properly without meds, I will consider adding some pasture raised and grass fed animal products back into my diet….but as for now, I’m doing a mostly raw, plant based diet. However, it was definitely too soon for beans.

  3. Barbara June 20, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    You are such an inspiration, Troye! Thank you for being committed to eating and doing what you know will make you healthy for the season that you are in. It is amazing what is available to keep in your refrigerator and concoct on your own that will be GOOD for you rather than NOT. You truly look amazing on the outside but I also know that on the inside you have learned so much – including: discipline, being content with whatever your portion may be, knowing that no matter how you feel, you are beautiful in the eyes of G-d and those who truly love you. I love you. Barbara

    • troyesthoughts June 20, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      Thank you so much Barbara! I sooo appreciate your encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

