Day 7 post juice fast….loving food that is loving me back & what my doctor said

21 Jun

My doctor is very pleased with my results from the juice fast. my total cholesterol went from 209 to 186 which is great but the big news is that my Hemoglobin A1c went from 8.1 (in February) to 6.7. This is huge! This increases our chances of achieving a healthy pregnancy (all prayers in that area are welcome…we’ve been struggling with “unexplained infertility” for years). And what’s even better about reaching that number, I’ve done that on 85% less insulin then originally prescribed! My doctor also suggested I become a nutritionist because she feels that my results can really inspire others. That is something worth looking into. Anyone that has any info, I’m open:)

As fate would have it, (btw i don’t believe in coincidence…Devine appointments, however, are another story;) I am having lunch this week with a woman who I met in the private Facebook group for the 21 day raw food reset who happens to live less then an hour away. I’m looking forward to hanging out with someone of like mind when it comes to health…and I believe in our fb conversation she mentioned studying to become a nutritionist. I’m looking forward to finding out more:)

Yesterday afternoon I finally felt better after having eaten that pinto bean hummus that did not agree with me 24 hours before…yesterday started with juice and fruit and a smoothie and I snacked on some berries, dehydrated kale chips and nori snacks. I also had some kombucha and some home made, fermented sauerkraut. Probiotics can only help in such a situation. Then for dinner I had a most awesome raw meal-all with ingredients from my local farmers market (except 2 of the ingredients in the sauce). This came from the recipe section of my 21 day raw food reset cleanse guide. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly and have some leftovers which is excellent cause I’ll be eating them again today and hubby will have them too. Btw, don’t be afraid to substitute if you don’t have a particular ingredient…I was able to get collards last week from the farmers market but romaine or green leaf lettuce would work too. I’m also going to grate some radish for tonight’s version since hubby and i will get to eat together and he doesn’t like beets. Also, since their recipe isn’t posted online, I’m just sharing what I did – which was too much for a single serving…I don’t want to violate any copy-write laws or anything.

20130621-133939.jpg
savory wraps with miso sauce:
collard greens (for the wraps…I used 3)
1/2 an avocado sliced or diced
1 beet grated
2 large yellow carrots grated (totally optional…I had them so I used them)
3 small to medium orange carrots grated
A handful of sprouts (I used broccoli sprouts)

Miso sauce:
2 Tbs of chickpea miso (here is the brand I use…I was able to get it from the refrigerated section of my local health food store…whole foods carries it too)
1 inch of freshly grated ginger
1 Tbs apple cider vinegar
1 green onion, finely chopped
Juice of about 1/2 an orange (just squeezed it with my hand…just enough to thin out the sauce-can use other citrus if desired)
I mixed all the ingredients in a small bowl with a fork
The sauce can be used as a salad dressing if it is thinned out even more using extra ACV or the citrus of your choosing

I laid out the collard leaf, broke off the extra stem (and fed it to my pup Layla who loves crunchy greens), put some grated beet down the length of the leaf, topped it with both of the grated carrots and then the sprouts with the avocado on top…I then drizzled about 2 tsp of the delicious miso sauce and rolled up my wrap. I enjoyed every single bite!

I’m seriously loving all of the new foods I get to eat! I don’t at all feel deprived by not having milk chocolate or steak and chicken…I might feel differently at summer BBQ’s but at the moment, all is well.

15 Responses to “Day 7 post juice fast….loving food that is loving me back & what my doctor said”

  1. Jill June 21, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    Troye – this looks wonderful!
    So excited about your doctors reaction and ideas for your future. You my friend would have motivated me as a nutritionist!

  2. Ellen Pitts June 21, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

    Have you read anything from Weston A Price about fertility? I have the cookbook and there are neat little health stories with all the recipes. One of them told of how they discovered why large cats (lions, tigers, etc) could not reproduce in captivity. A scientist who was observing them in the wild noticed that after a kill the cat immediately ate the entrails and left everything else. They started feeding organ meats to the captive cats and Bingo! They started breeding in captivity. Most indigenous tribes that were studied by Price had special diets for women during their child-bearing years. Here is an article discussing main-stream fertility diet advice: http://www.westonaprice.org/thumbs-down-reviews/fertility-diet

  3. Ellen Pitts June 21, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    If you scroll down just a short way you will see a section called “Primitive Pregnancy Diets”

    http://www.westonaprice.org/childrens-health/vitamins-for-fetal-development-conception-to-birth#prim

  4. Erin W. June 21, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    You are inspring Troye! I could totally see you being a nutritionist. Not only because all that you have been learning about healthy foods, etc. but because you have experienced it first hand. It’s one thing to study and read about it but it has such a bigger impact when you can tell someone how much it has changed your life personally. Maybe when you all come stay with us this summer you can bring some of your recipes to share. I would love that!

    • troyesthoughts June 21, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks! And I definitely will bring some recipes! I will also have my vitamix! Fun times will ensue 😉

  5. Ellen Pitts June 21, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    I thought that I should add, if you are not familiar with Weston A Price, all the meat products they tell you to eat should be grass fed and organic. Milk should be raw, from grass-fed organic animals. This makes the nutrition of the food much denser.

    • troyesthoughts June 21, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Ellen-I switched to a paleo diet for 2 years during which my animal products were all grass fed and pasture raised or at the very least organic

  6. danielle June 21, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Your so sweet ….I can’t wait to meet you as well… xo

  7. mamaemme June 22, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Caught up on your blog again – you do look great! – and I am inspired by all that you’ve learned and accomplished. God has a purpose in all of this for you, beyond what you have learned for yourself…..can’t wait to see that one unfold!

  8. janehax June 26, 2013 at 4:34 am #

    That is an UNREAL drop in HbA1c!!!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

