A week and a half after ending the juice fast

25 Jun

The last few days have been quite busy-today especially. Today I spent the entire day in the kitchen making new recipes I had never attempted before. Not everything turned out as planned, but in the end, it all worked out great. I’ll go into detail in a minute. First, I have to admit something that I’m not crazy about, even though according to what I’ve read, this is totally normal…but I’ve put on 5lbs…I realize its pretty normal to put on between 5 & 8lbs in the days following the end of a juice fast but I’m still bummed…however, my clothes aren’t fitting any different so that is a good thing. I also didn’t return to my previous meat-eating habits so I thought I might have been able to avoid the weight gain. If it continues to rise, I may have to drink more juice and green smoothies. At the moment I am having one juice and one smoothie, some fruit and some sort of plant-based meal daily. My sugars have gone up slightly but not significantly.

One of the things I missed a lot while juicing is curry…so last night I roasted some cauliflower, summer squash, onions and a couple of jalapeรฑos tossed in a very small amount of olive oil and curry powder, cumin, turmeric with a touch of cinnamon…it hit the spot! Sorry, I totally forgot to take a pic…but I promise it was delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

I read an article about the importance of soaking and dehydrating raw nuts before eating them. I had a bunch of nuts in the pantry so before I went to bed, I soaked my hazel nuts, almonds and cashews. This morning when I got up I rinsed them and put them in the dehydrator. However, not all my almonds or cashews would fit…so I decided to try some recipes I have pinned to my raw boards on Pinterest.

The first thing I made is something that I can’t believe I’ve never made before…as a matter if fact, I feel a little silly for it taking me this long to do…homemade almond milk! Sooo super easy! I used this recipe except I didn’t add the cinnamon. Hubby liked it though and has requested I make some more for him to bring into work and keep in the fridge there for his cereal. I’m glad cause I would way rather him have almond milk then organic cow’s milk. The added benefit to making almond milk is that I can also make almond meal from what was left in my nut milk bag and since I had the dehydrator going anyway, the timing was perfect! It was nice to use my nut milk bag for the purpose it was created ๐Ÿ˜‰

20130625-010341.jpg

Then I went out and picked a whole bunch of basil…there were 2 recipes I wanted to make that used basil and I have 2 different plants..a regular green sweet basil plant and a purple basil plant. I wanted to use the purple basil to make a pesto for this zucchini roll up recipe. I made the sauces for it and then went to slice one of the zucchinis from my garden for the roll-up “noodle”. However, I realized that my mandolin would not slice the entire length of the zucchini so I figured I would cut it super thin with a knife…that didn’t work either…so I scrapped that idea and then put a green and a yellow zucchini through my spiralizer and made a creamy pesto sauce by mixing the purple pesto and the cashew “cream cheese” I originally planned on spreading on my zucchini roll. I topped it off with purรฉed sun dried tomatoes and fire roasted red pepper (from a jar) and some chopped green basil and cherry tomatoes from my garden…even though it wasn’t what I had planned on making, it tasted great. And hubby even liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

20130625-012228.jpg

I still had enough soaked cashews for 2 more recipes…my birthday is coming up so I decided to try a vegan “cheesecake“. It was Freaking Delicious! (I realize I complained about gaining weight but this is the first time I actually had a dessert and I don’t plan on having it every day) I’ve never made a dish like this before and I wanted to make sure I would actually enjoy it on my birthday. I believe I will ๐Ÿ™‚

The last thing I made has to set in the fridge overnight so I won’t try it till tomorrow but I tasted the “goat cheese” layer of this Vegan “goat cheese” appetizer and holy freakin’ moly! I’m totally going to put this out next time I have guests. The recipe made enough for me to freeze some-so I’m ready for company ๐Ÿ™‚ This is the recipe I needed the green basil for. I made a layer of pesto (and mine was oil free-I subbed some veggie broth for the olive oil the recipe called for). I’m sorry my dairy free friend Alisa isn’t here to try this one cause I bet she would like it and it won’t make her son break out in a horrible rash!

My kitchen has been cleaned up, hubby’s smoothie is in the fridge for his early morning departure for work and the dehydrator is quietly dehydrating. It’s time for me to go to bed!

7 Responses to “A week and a half after ending the juice fast”

  1. jessica June 25, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    I would live to try your almond milk next time you make it! Sounds yummy!

    • jessica June 25, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      **love lol

    • troyesthoughts June 25, 2013 at 10:32 am #

      Sure! I’ll be bringing over some of the cheesecake for u to try this week ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. mamaemme June 25, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    It all sounds very yummy!

  3. Alisa June 27, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    I wish i could try it too!!!! and the cheesecake ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll have to make some myself i suppose LOL!

Leave a Reply

