Getting to know my body after my juice fast and making party-friendly healthy foods

1 Jul

I keep referring to my husband as “hubby” when I write about him here and I think it’s time for a real nickname…since he’s a professional trumpet player and I think he’s dreamy, from henceforth he will be known as Hot Lips. πŸ™‚

I’ve been busy in the kitchen over the weekend. I was sooo super excited about my kale chips but unfortunately they weren’t as terrific as I had hoped. To coat my kale I used a delicious miso sauce made of 2 Tbs chickpea miso, 1 1/2 Tbs ACV (apple cider vinegar), a finely chopped green onion and a pressed clove garlic. They taste good but I don’t have the texture right…and I dehydrated them for over 12 hours….maybe I need do it at a higher temperature or try a recipe that uses olive oil…or a cashew based spread. I will not give up!

Speaking of cashews, I found a fabulous website that gives a delicious recipe for a raw, vegan egg salad. I am someone who is not great about following recipes exactly and changed it up a bit.
Raw, Vegan Deviled Egg Salad
1 1/2 cups raw cashews (soaked for a couple of hours and rinsed well…can also use previously soaked and dehydrated cashews)
1 T fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 T ACV (apple cider vinegar)
2 to 3 t stone ground mustard
3/4 t turmeric (I used more like 1 1/2 t fresh grated)
1 1/2 cloves garlic (I will use 2 next time)
Up to 3/4 cup water-starting with 1/4 cup in the blender and adding as necessary)
2 to 3 stalks celery finely chopped
1/2 red bell pepper finely chopped
1/2 green bell pepper finely chopped
1 small spring onion finely chopped
1 1/2 T dried dill (if I had fresh I would have used that instead)
Salt & pepper to taste (I didn’t use salt)
Paprika (to sprinkle on top)

Put the first 7 ingredients (cashews -water) in the blender and blend well until a smooth and creamy thick (think hollandaise) sauce like consistency.

Add chopped ingredients above (plus any others you would like to add…I bet chopped pickles would be good too) to a bowl, pour in your “egg salad” mixture over them, add your dill, salt and pepper and mix well with a spoon or spatula. Garnish with paprika.

I spread this over romaine lettuce and topped with sprouts. It was delicious! It also goes well on crackers. You could pass it off as a “garden spread” to your non-vegan friends. By the way, I finally got a chopper from Pampered Chef and that’s what I used to chop everything…I can’t believe it took me so long to get one-it’s an awesome kitchen tool! And it gets everything chopped uniformly and doesn’t get my fingers in the process. I realize I have a kitchen gadget problem…but I do spend quite a bit of time in the kitchen.

20130701-104117.jpg

Hot Lips and I went to a swell roaring 20’s party and I wanted to bring some food associated with that time and egg salad was a popular dish, hence my hunt for a vegan egg-salad dish.

I brought this dish to a party and although I’m not sure how many people tried it, I’m glad I brought it because it turned out to be one of the only things I could eat…I did try some gluten free tortilla chips with it but I’m pretty sure my body doesn’t like those…my ankles swelled up a bit. At least I’m learning how my body is responding to different foods. I also tasted a dish that my husband loves (that I also made-not consistent with the period) that I used to absolutely love-buffalo chicken dip…it has chicken and dairy..it didn’t taste as great as I remembered…meanwhile Hot Lips said it was the best batch I’ve ever made. My body didn’t react as strongly to it as I had expected but I didn’t have very much. I noticed I was a bit gassy but not sick. Someone else made a delicious baked summer squash with spices and they topped it with crumbled crackers and cheese…I did not know before I ate it that it had gluten but it was a minimal amount. So I ate a bunch of different, new things and had some reactions but nothing too extreme.

Since I read that melon balls were popular in the 1920’s, I also made a watermelon ball salad. It was super easy, delicious & a hit at the party:
Watermelon Ball Salad
1/2 a good sized seedless watermelon scooped out with a melon baller
1 1/2 to 2 limes juiced
A bunch of finely chopped mint

Put watermelon balls in a bowl, top with lime juice and mint. Mix to make sure the lime juice and mint are well incorporated. Cover and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight.

While I forgot to take a picture of it, I do have a picture of us in our costumes..we won best dressed couple:)

20130701-113831.jpg

I’m gearing up for a busy week with the upcoming holiday weekend inclusive of company from out of town coming to visit, a BBQ to attend plus one to host on Sunday which also happens to be my birthday πŸ™‚ There will be lots of food to be made and I’m looking forward to sharing those food adventures with you amidst the craziness!

3 Responses to “Getting to know my body after my juice fast and making party-friendly healthy foods”

  1. Lynn Zaremsky July 1, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi Troye,

    Just noticed your blog. Some of the recipes look great. I’ll keep checking it out. Being delivered and l
    osing 78 pounds so far has healed me of pre-diabetes, major joint pain, sleep apnea, and high cholestorol. I have experienced a miracle of healing by being delivered from food addiction of any kind. God is amazing and if this can happen to me anything and everything is possible because I was a “hopeless” case and suffered all my life from food, weight and body image strongholds.Blessings to you on your journey!

    Love,
    Lynn

    • troyesthoughts July 2, 2013 at 8:59 am #

      That is wonderful Lynn! I’ve seen your pictures on Facebook-you look terrific!

  2. backgammon players play June 20, 2014 at 12:58 am #

    I have learn several just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting.
    I wonder how so much attempt you set to make any such fantastic informative website.

Leave a Reply

