Made a raw dinner even Hot Lips enjoyed

3 Jul

Today was My local Farmers Market 🙂 With all the rain we’ve been having, not everyone had everything I was looking for (they literally couldn’t get to some of the plants in their fields because of the mud) but I got some great produce none the less. I got some beautiful eggplants so I believe I will be making babaganouj at some point this weekend. I also really like cutting them up and oven roasting them with other veggies and curry. I can’t believe how excited I get over vegetables these days! I’m also looking forward to making some dishes with the beautiful cabbage I got too.

Speaking of excitement over veggies, tonight’s dinner was scrumptious and even was a hit with Hot Lips! He is super supportive and eats pretty much everything I serve him but if he’s not crazy about a dish when I ask him how it is, his answer is “It tastes healthy”. However, tonight he literally licked the ramekin the sauce was in. I originally thought I wanted to make this Thai Lettuce Wraps recipe but didn’t actually have all of the ingredients and it wasn’t quite what I was in the mood for. Then i found this recipe for a Thai “Peanut” Sauce and was inspired to create a new dish based on my own version of this sauce. I had some ingredients I picked up at our last trip to the Asian market and tonight I finally got to use them in my recipe:

20130704-011716.jpg

Thai Summer Rolls

Rolls:
12 or so rice paper rounds (make sure the ones you get don’t have any corn products in them-mine were made of rice flour, tapioca, water and salt and on the front they say “Vietnamese Rice Paper” size 22cm)
A handful of Bean Threads prepared according to directions on package (mine were made from mung beans, tapioca starch and water-they are noodles)
8-12 leaves of romaine lettuce (can be cut in strips if that is easier for you)
A large handful of fresh mint, torn (at least 24 leaves)
A large handful of fresh basil, torn (at least 24 leaves…I used purple basil in this dish but any kind would work)
A handful of fresh parsley
A handful of fresh cilantro
1 cucumber julienned or cut into matchsticks
3 carrots julienned
3 green onions chopped
Chopped almonds (optional-I didn’t use them but really think they would have been a good idea)

20130704-014959.jpg

Get a glass pie dish and put in a couple of inches of warm water (do not use boiling water because it will turn your rice paper immediately into a difficult to work with, sticky mess….go ahead, ask me how I know that 😉 ) Place 1 piece of rice paper in water for up to 5 seconds until it is soft but still holds its shape. Place on a dry plate and place romaine, mung noodles, torn mint & basil leaves, parsley and cilantro (I used only the leaves) carrots, cucumbers and top with green onions and chopped almonds. Fold the top over, the bottom over and roll like a burrito. I realize this is easier said then done, but you will get the hang of it. Repeat until you use up your ingredients.

Serves 2

I’m certain that there was an old Asian woman somewhere laughing at me as I made these.

Thai satay style dipping sauce:
1 cup raw almond butter
1/2 cup filtered water (add more if necessary to get desired consistency)
Juice of 2 small limes
2TBS coconut aminos
A 2″ thumb of ginger
3 to 4 large cloves of garlic
1 to 2 stalks lemongrass, finely chopped
1 whole jalapeño (I would have preferred to use a cayenne pepper but mine aren’t ripe yet. You could also use pepper flakes or powdered cayenne….or omit it completely if you don’t do hot stuff)
Sea salt to taste

Put everything in a high power blender (put the liquid ingredients in first and then the almond butter…trust me on this one) or a food processor and blend until smooth….I had a bunch of sauce left over but I’m thinking I might add some rice vinegar to it and make a salad dressing out of it. You could probably half the recipe and still have enough but quite honestly, I’m glad for the extra sauce.

Well, I’m off to bed…last night I was up until 4am and felt lousy today…I suspect I was up that late because around 9ish I had a soft serve ice cream-like dessert made of blended frozen bananas with almond butter, vanilla, honey, cinnamon and raw cacao powder…I’m guessing that there’s caffeine in the raw cacao powder that kept me up….I’m still getting to know how my body responds to what I put into it. However, I definitely feel more sensitive to and aware of the way different foods affect me. I’m so thankful for the opportunity to have been able to do a 60 day juice fast.

3 Responses to “Made a raw dinner even Hot Lips enjoyed”

  1. Melanie Rose Schroeder July 6, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

    I sure wish we were neighbors:0

    • troyesthoughts July 7, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      🙂 that would be awesome! I hope we get to meet when we r both in TN!

      • Melanie Rose Schroeder July 7, 2013 at 7:59 pm #

        That won’t be happening this week unfortunately. Please call me at 850-291-5272 when you get a few minutes we can catch up and pray:0 I haven’t forgotten your oregano either:0

Leave a Reply

