Preparing to host a BBQ

3 Jul

While I know my body is healthy, I am definitely frustrated about the weight gain…I am still doing a plant based diet which really has me feeling great so I know I’m on the right track. I still have way more energy then I did before my cleanse. However, I seriously need to stop talking about exercising and I need to at least take a walk…tonight Hot Lips got home and took the pups out and I wanted to go with but was busy preparing dinner…which I totally did not take pictures of…sorry about that. I made a pesto sauce using broth instead of oil and nutritional yeast instead of cheese and put it over kelp noodles and topped it off with roasted veggies; squash, jalapeños & onions (from the farmers market) and zucchini & yellow pepper from my back yard (& organic garlic & asparagus from Whole Foods) topped with coconut oil and balsamic vinegar infused with basil, winter savory, rosemary & thyme from my garden. The veggies had enough of a sauce that I didn’t really need the pesto but it was too late by the time I figured that out. The kelp were raw so I I had both raw and cooked components in tonight’s dinner.

While on the subject of food, this weekend is my birthday and we are hosting a BBQ. I’m really looking forward to getting together with friends from the different communities of my life (i.e. neighbors, friends from synagogue, my army wife community, etc). Hot Lips and I love to entertain and it’s been 2 years since we’ve done a big event like this. Last summer I was grieving the loss of my dad so I wasn’t up to entertaining. This year I’ve got all kinds of vegan dishes I want to make plus some fun, patriotic dishes and a cake. I’m thinking this chocolate hazelnut deliciousness. I’ve got ideas for red, white and blue fruit and nut milk ice pops for the kids, some sort of gluten free & dairy free parfait to go in my trifle bowl that I have yet to use, a watermelon ball salad and probably some roasted veggies. Plus whatever my guests bring…..plus some meat.

Regarding the meat issue, I have changed my diet because my body has responded well to my eliminating animal products, not because I am ethically against eating meat. However, even before my cleanse when I ate meat, it was usually from a local, grass fed source. I happen to still have a roast in the deep freeze that I will be cooking to make shredded BBQ beef. I expect I will indulge in eating some meat this weekend. We’ll see how my body responds.

However, I still need to get hot dogs and chicken tenders for the grill (Hot Lips has grill duty). This task may seem easy but trying to remain budget conscious and in line with my integrity has proved to be a challenge. While I have had coupons for Hebrew National family packs of beef hot dogs (we don’t do pork or shellfish at my house), I can’t bring myself to serve my guests food loaded with MSG and nitrites & nitrates….even though I realize that many of my guests might not pay attention to those details, I do…and I don’t want to knowingly serve neurotoxins and poisons to people I care about. I’ve been going back and forth with my friend Jessica about this. Her argument, which is totally valid and makes sense, is get the more budget friendly option since that’s very likely what others are serving in their own homes. Getting all beef hot dogs is a step up from the “mixed meat” ones that include pork which plenty of people will be serving this weekend. Makes sense…and I even had the Hebrew National family pack in my cart with my coupon in my hand…and I couldn’t make the purchase. It means I will spend a bit more but I do know that I serve a gracious G-d who is the ultimate provider and has put these issues of health on my heart. Same thing with the huge bags of Tyson chicken tenders…those didn’t even make it into the cart…The movie Food Inc. was way too informative about how those chickens are raised and I not only don’t want that junk in my body (or the bodies of those i care about) but I also don’t want to give that company my $$. There was a “natural” brand at the wholesale store that claims to be raised on organic feed without hormones but I don’t know anything about what company those chickens come from…and at that point it wasn’t cheaper then Trader Joe’s frozen chicken tenders…so I’m going with those. Not perfect, but certainly a better option. I feel like when it comes to eliminating toxic foods, a Harm Reduction approach is helpful. While this tactic is generally associated with helping people doing illegal drug use, the reality is that wearing a seatbelt in a car is an act of harm reduction…that is to say that you take steps to reduce the amount of harm you are exposed to…if you get in an accident, if wearing a seatbelt, you are more likely to recover then if you are not wearing one and go head first into the windshield….because not getting in a car at all (which would eliminate the risk entirely) is not an option for most people. If we make small, healthier choices with some of our food choices, even if not all of them, we are reducing the harm done to our bodies. I hope this makes sense. I was an outreach worker for several years in Chinatown in Honolulu and that is the main method I used with my clients. I have definitely applied it to my own life in the area of health throughout the various stages of my journey. Feedback about this subject is welcome and encouraged!

20130703-024942.jpg

7 Responses to “Preparing to host a BBQ”

  1. Erin July 3, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    I agree with eliminating as much as you can from our diet that can do harm. I’m not able to buy all organic or all grass fed, etc. all the time but I can definitely read labels and buy the best option that my budget will allow. I’m still learning all the bad ingredients to look for on the ingredients label but for me the fewer ingredients the better.
    I have done that too, Troye, about almost purchasing something but couldn’t do it because I knew of the ingredients in it. Especially when it comes to hot dogs. Spending a couple of extra dollars on the no nitrates brand is worth it to me. :o)

    • troyesthoughts July 4, 2013 at 10:35 am #

      We just can’t “unknow” the things we’ve learned! Reading labels is soooo important…many grocery store pickles have yellow dye in them! It’s so frustrating to know that these food companies are poisoning us

      • Melanie Rose Schroeder July 7, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

        I am so with you regarding the toxins and poisons.
        I didn’t eat meat for quite some time years ago, but at 52 last year, I found my body was needing more eggs and protein. I do eat the Hebrew International, low fat, dogs and everyone loves them. ONLY 40 calories? can you believe it? I don’t really count calories.. at all.but some people do. My brother is doing the chicken thing so we have amazing eggs available with no GMO’S but I would like to add the word GRACE to this mumbo- jumbo here I am rambling.

        After losing my 2 brothers in three years, that word grace became so much more needed and wanted. I was able to eat things and it didn’t even effect my body. I found out what comfort food was. I haven’t really ever been an emotional eater.

        I have found oatmeal with blueberries in the morning with a few eggs is the perfect combo to start my day off with a bang.
        The eggs help with burning fat.

        I know God will show you what to do regarding your food. Just remember to stay in the grace of it all or the fun is depleted and the joy is gone. I love being educated about all these things.. and obviously you do too.

        May He richly bless you as He teaches you how to walk in good health in your body, soul and even your spirit… 1 thess. 5:23-24

        your new cyber friend in deed:0

      • troyesthoughts July 7, 2013 at 11:17 pm #

        No way are you 52! Holy moly!!! I never would have guest that! I seriously thought u were at least 10 years younger. I am definitely feeling G-d’s grace, especially around food issues. I will be talking about all the animal products I tried this weekend…I’m certainly not opposed to eating animal products morally or otherwise. I do, however feel that the quality is important.

  2. Sue whitehead July 8, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Love your thots and then Melanie’s reply! Thank you for putting it out there…. Once we get an awareness we can’t ignore God’s grace in this. He’ll keep leading you because you’re asking…..

    • troyesthoughts July 9, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

      You got it Sue! I’m hoping that my journey to health can help others with theirs:)

    • troyesthoughts July 26, 2013 at 10:58 am #

      🙂 Thanks Sue!

Leave a Reply

